West Virginia State University (WVSU) will host the Kanawha Valley Section of the American Chemical Society (ACS) Awards Banquet at 6 p.m. on Tuesday, May 17, 2016, in the James C. Wilson Student Union on campus.

The awards will honor outstanding science students from 14 area high schools and middle schools as well as ACS members who have served their community or had significant careers in the chemical industry.

Earlier this year, local students competed in the Dow Chemical Company sponsored statewide “You Be The Chemist” competition. The state of West Virginia winner of the “You Be The Chemist” competition will be recognized at the banquet. In addition, top scoring students who competed in the ACS sponsored Chemistry Olympiad, which took place earlier this year, will be recognized. Chemistry Olympiad awards the top achieving schools in the region, the highest scoring student from each school that competed and the highest achieving students for the region will be recognized.

WVSU, ACS, University of Charleston and West Virginia University Institute of Technology will be offering a total of 14 college scholarships valued at more than $200,000 to leading science students.

Rusty Kruzelock, executive director and chief executive officer of the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission’s Regional Technology Park, will provide the keynote address.

The following schools will have students in attendance:

Bluefield High School

Boone County Honors Academy

Capital High School

Charleston Catholic High School

Clay County High School

George Washington High School

Herbert Hoover High School

Montcalm High School

Oak Hill High School

Pikeview High School

Poca High School

Riverside High School

Sissonville Middle School

Valley High School