The Science and Research Council was established by the West Virginia Legislature in 2009 with the passage of House Bill 3229.

The goal of the Science and Research Council is to increase the capacity of the state and its colleges and universities to attract, implement and use cutting-edge, competitive research funds and infrastructure. Members of the council provide expertise and policy guidance to the state regarding federal and state programs including EPSCoR, the Research Challenge Fund, and the former Research Trust Fund. Representatives of government, industry, business and academia make up the council.

The Science and Research Council meets two times per year or more as needed to review division activities.

Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Ph.D. (Chair)
Interim Chancellor
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
Charleston, W.Va.
304.558.0699
sarah.tucker@wvhepc.edu


Jan Taylor. Ph.D.
Director
West Virginia Science & Research and NSF EPSCoR
Charleston, W.Va.
304.558.2321
jan.taylor@wvresearch.org

Anne Barth
Executive Director
TechConnect
Charleston, W.Va.
304.444.2918
anne@techconnectwv.org

Jan Fox, Ph.D.
Senior Vice President for Information Technology & Chief Information Officer Emeritus
Marshall University
Huntington, W.Va.
394.638.8405
fox@marshall.edu

Ed Gaunch
Cabinet Secretary
West Virginia Department of Commerce
Charleston, W.Va.
304.558.2234

Laura Gibson, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Vice President for Health Sciences Research and Graduate Education
West Virginia University
Morgantown, W.Va.
304.293.7206
lgibson@hsc.wvu.edu

Fred King, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
West Virginia University
Morgantown, W.Va.
304.293.3449
fred.king@mail.wvu.edu

John Maher, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
Marshall University
Huntington, W.Va.
304.696.4748
maherj@marshall.edu

Maura McLaughlin, Ph.D.
Professor of Physics and Astronomy
West Virginia University
Morgantown, W.Va.
304.293.4812
maura.mclaughlin@mail.wvu.edu

Colleen Nolan, Ph.D.
Dean and Professor of Biology
Shepherd University
Shepherdstown, W.Va.
304.876.5106
cnolan@shepherd.edu

Michael Norton, Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
Marshall University
Huntington, W.Va.
304.696.3489
norton@marshall.edu

Steven L. Paine, Ed.D.
Superintendent
West Virginia Department of Education
Charleston, W.Va.
304.558.2118

Rachel Roberts
Site Logistics Leader and Manufacturing Production Leader
Dow Inc.
Charleston, W.Va.
rlroberts@dow.com

Uma Sundaram, MD
Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Education, Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine
Marshall University
Huntington, W.Va.
304.691.1841
sundaramu@marshall.edu

Jose Ulises Toledo, Ph.D.
Associate Vice President for Administration
West Virginia State University
Institute, W.Va.
304.766.4290
toledoju@wvstateu.edu