Science & Research

West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission

Previous
Next

Science and Research Council

The Science and Research Council was established by the West Virginia Legislature in 2009 with the passage of House Bill 3229.

The goal of the Science and Research Council is to increase the capacity of the state and its colleges and universities to attract, implement and use cutting-edge, competitive research funds and infrastructure. Members of the council provide expertise and policy guidance to the state regarding federal and state programs including EPSCoR, the West Virginia Research Trust Fund and the Research Challenge Fund. Representatives of government, industry, business and academia make up the council.

The Science and Research Council meets two times per year or more as needed to review Division of Science and Research activities. Minutes of the June 29, 2016 meeting are available here.

For more information, visit the Contact Us page.

 

Science and Research Council members:

 

Anne Barth
Executive Director
TechConnect
110 Cyrus Point Drive
Charleston WV  25314
304.444.2918
email annebarth2008@gmail.com 


Jack Carpenter

President
Kicking Stones Consulting Inc.
93 12th Street
Suite 1R
Wheeling WV  26003
304.234.6630
e-mail jcarpenter@kickingstonesconsulting.com

 

Laura Gibson, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Vice President for Health Sciences Research and Graduate Education
West Virginia University
Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center
PO Box 9104
Morgantown WV  26506
304.293.7206
e-mail lgibson@hsc.wvu.edu

 

Paul Hill, Ph.D.
Chancellor
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
1018 Kanawha Blvd
Charleston WV 25301
304.558.2440
e-mail paul.hill@hepc.wvnet.edu


Fred King, Ph.D.

Vice President for Research
West Virginia University
886 Chestnut Ridge Road
Morgantown WV  26506
304.293.3449
e-mail Fred.King@mail.wvu.edu

 

John Maher, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research
Marshall University
401 11th St
Suite 1400
Huntington WV  25701
304.696.4748
e-mail maherj@marshall.edu

 

Gayle Manchin
Cabinet Secretary
West Virginia Department of Education and the Arts
1900 Kanawha Blvd E
Building 5 Room 205
Charleston WV  25305
304.558.2440
e-mail gayle.c.manchin@wv.gov

 

Michael Martirano, Ph.D.
Superintendent
West Virginia Department of Education
Building 6, Room 608
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East
Charleston, WV  25305
304.558.2118
e-mail superintendent@wvde.state.wv.us

 

Orlando McMeans, Ph.D.
Vice President for Research and Public Services
Gus R. Douglass Institute
West Virginia State University
PO Box 1000
Institute WV 25112
304.766.4291
e-mail mcmeanso@wvstateu.edu

 

Colleen Nolan, Ph.D.
Dean and Professor of Biology
Shepherd University
301 North King Street
Shepherdstown, WV  25443
304.876.5106
e-mail cnolan@shepherd.edu


Earl E. Scime, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy
West Virginia University
128 Hodges hall
Morgantown, WV 26506
304.293.3422
e-mail: escime@wvu.edu


Charles Somerville, Ph.D.

Dean, College of Science
Marshall University
1 John Marshall Drive
Science Building S270
Huntington WV 25755
304.696.2424
e-mail somervil@marshall.edu

 

Uma Sundaram
Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Education
Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine
Marshall University
1600 Medical Center Drive
Huntington WV 25701
304.691.1841
e-mail sundaramu@marshall.edu

 

H. Wood Thrasher
Cabinet Secretary, West Virginia Department of Commerce
West Virginia Development Office
1900 Kanawha Blvd E
Building 6 Room 525
Charleston WV  25305
304.558.2234
e-mail w.thrasher@wv.gov

 

# # #

Visit our Press Room  for news about science and research in West Virginia.

Home